2/4/25, 2:58 PM BoardDocs® Pro

The Johnstown-Monroe Local School District Board of Education met in organizational session on January 13, 2025 at the Johnstown Middle School, Library located at 401 S. Oregon Street, Johnstown, Ohio 43031. President, Tim Swauger called the meeting to order at 5:06 p.m. Responding to roll call were: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger, Anne Thomas. Also present were Philip Wagner, Superintendent and Felicia Drummey, Treasurer.

These written minutes, with resolutions passed and any attachments, in combination with the video recording of regular meetings and audio recording of work sessions of Board proceedings, which is available to the

public https://www.youtube.com/@jmsdyoutube5802 together constitute the official minutes of the meeting of the Johnstown-Monroe Local School District Board.

1. Opening of Meeting

Procedural: A. Silent Prayer

Procedural: B. Pledge to the Flag

Reading of the Notice by Dr. Wagner followed roll call.

Procedural: C. President Pro-Tempore, Tim Swauger, Calls on Treasurer to Take Roll

Procedural: D. Reading of the Notice of the Meeting

2. Presentation of the Agenda

Procedural: A. Additions or Deletions to the Agenda

None

Action: B. Resolution #25-01-001: Adoption of the Agenda

Motion to adopt the agenda.

Motion by Alan Benton, second by Amanda Davis.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger, Anne Thomas

3. Election of President

Procedural: A. Nomination of President

Alan nominate Tim Swauger and 2nd by Ruth Ann Booher

Action: B. Resolution #25-01-002: Close Nomination of President

Motion to close nominations.

Motion by Alan Benton, second by Amanda Davis.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger, Anne Thomas

Action: C. Resolution #25-01-003: Election of President Motion to appoint Mr. Tim Swauger as the President.

Motion by Alan Benton, second by Amanda Davis.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Anne Thomas

Abstain: Tim Swauger

4. Election of Vice President

Procedural: A. Nomination of Vice President

Alan nominates Amanda Davis Ruth Ann nominates Ann Thomas

Action: B. Resolution #25-01-004: Close Nomination of Vice President

Motion to close nominations.

Motion by Alan Benton, second by Ruth Ann Booher.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger, Anne Thomas

Action: C. Resolution #25-01-005: Election of Vice President

Motion to appoint Amanda Davis as Vice President

Motion by Alan Benton, second by Tim Swauger

2/4/25, 2:58 PM BoardDocs® Pro

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger

Nay: Ruth Ann Booher, Anne Thomas

5. Consent Agenda

Action (Consent): A. Resolution #25-01-006: Approval of Consent Agenda

Mr. Benton asked for meeting notices/invites for the dates that do not follow the normal schedule. Dr. Wagner stated that he would send invite for all of these meetings

Resolution: Motion to approve Consent Agenda.

Motion by Alan Benton, second by Ruth Ann Booher.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger, Anne Thomas

Action (Consent): B. Establishing Meetings for 2025

Resolution: Motion to approve the second Monday of each month for Regular Board of Education meetings, and the fourth Monday of each month for Work Session meetings, except as noted, at 5:00 p.m. at either the Middle School Media Center, 401 S. Oregon St., or at the District Office, 85 W. Douglas St., as listed, and to add meetings as deemed necessary. This resolution authorizes the Board to notice a change in meetings with proper notice.

January 13, 2025	Organizational Meeting
January 13, 2025	Regular Session
January 27, 2025	Work Session
February 10, 2025	Regular Session
February 24, 2025	Work Session
March 10, 2025	Regular Session
March 17, 2025*	Work Session
April 14, 2025	Regular Session
April 28, 2025	Work Session
May 12, 2025	Regular Session
May 19, 2025*	Work Session
June 9, 2025	Regular Session
July 10, 2025*	Regular Session
August 18, 2025*	Regular Session
August 25, 2025	Work Session
September 8, 2025	Regular Session
September 22, 2025	Work Session
October 13, 2025	Regular Session
October 27, 2025	Work Session
November 10, 2025	Regular Session
November 24, 2025	Work Session
December 8, 2025	Regular Session

Motion by Alan Benton, second by Ruth Ann Booher.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger, Anne Thomas

Action: C. Board Action Items

6. Establishing Committee and Liaison Appointments for 2025

Committee	Board Member	Board Member	Alternate	Meeting Date
Athletics & Extracurricular Activities	Tim Swauger	Anne Thomas		
Buildings, Grounds & Safety	Ruth Ann Booher	Anne Thomas		
Curriculum	Amanda Davis	Anne Thomas		

2/4/25, 2:58 PM BoardDocs® Pro

Finance	Alan Benton	Ruth Ann Booher	
Insurance	Anne Thomas	Ruth Anne Booher	01/09/2025
Policy	Amanda Davis	Alan Benton	
Strat. Plan./Econ. Dev./Const. Proj.	Tim Swauger	Ruth Ann Booher	
Technology	Alan Benton	Amanda Davis	

Local Professional Development Committee (LPDC)	01/21/2025
---	------------

LPDC

No Board Rep Needed - Reports out activities

OSBA Capital Conference Delegate	Alan Benton
OSBA Capital Conference Alternate Delegate	Tim Swauger
OSBA Legislative Liaison	Anne Thomas
OSBA Alternate Legislative Delegate	Ruth Ann Booher
OSBA Student Achievement Liaison	Amanda Davis

Resolution #25-01-006(A) Motion to approve the Committee appointments.

Motion by Alan Benton, second by Amanda Davis.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger, Anne Thomas

7. Board Comments

Discussion: A. Board Comments

None

8. Superintendent's Comments

Discussion: A. Superintendent's Comments

9. Adjournment

Action: A. Resolution #25-01-007: Adjournment

Motion that the Board of Education meeting is hereby adjourned at 5:28 PM.

Motion by Ruth Ann Booher, second by Alan Benton.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yea: Alan Benton, Ruth Ann Booher, Amanda Davis, Tim Swauger, Anne Thomas

Board President	
Treasurer	